RSS Feed

Thoughts on 2015 Reading Challenges

I think I was a little too hopeful in attempting to complete two challenges in one year. However, that being said, I really liked doing the challenges. I didn’t finish them, but I had fun. I have never done a reading challenge before and it really helped me expand my reading selections. It also helped me read some books that I had been intending to read but never got around to reading. The only thing I didn’t like about the challenges was that I found books that I normally would have just picked up and read, but since they didn’t fit on my challenge list anywhere I placed them aside for later. I think in 2016 I’m only going to do one challenge so that I can read these books as well. Also, for some of the challenges, I just could not find a book I liked for it at all. Therefore, there were certain challenges I just decided not to complete because I was not going to force myself to read something I didn’t enjoy or even like.

Top Five Books I Read for the Challenges:

Books I read that I ended up not liking:

  1. When the Wind Blows by James Patterson
  2. Woman Hollering Creek and Other Stories by Sandra Cisneros
  3. Wuthering Heights by Emily Brontë
  4. The Legend of Sleepy Hollow by Washington Irving
  5. Jane Slayre by Charlotte Brontë and Sherri Browning Erwin

Book I was surprised by:

  1. However Long the Night by Aimee Molloy
  2. The Hobbit: Graphic Novel by J.R.R. Tolkien, Adapted by Charles Dixon and Sean Deming, Illustrated by David Wenzel
  3. The Scarlet Letter by Nathaniel Hawthorne
  4. The Harry Potter Series by J. K. Rowling
  5. The Merry Adventures of Robin Hood by Howard Pyle
  6. The Haunting of Maddy Clare by Simone St. James
  7. The Eyre Affair by Jasper Fforde
Leave a Reply

