RSS Feed

The Legend of Sleepy Hollow by Washington Irving

The Legend of Sleepy Hollow by Washington Irving

 

I chose to read this book because it always pops up around Halloween and I felt like reading it. Usually, I am pleasantly surprised by classics and I fall in love with them. However, it was not the case with this book. After reading it, I chose to place it in my reading challenge as “a book with bad reviews”. After I read it, I looked it up on Goodreads and Amazon and I was not surprised to find that others did not like it as well.

My biggest issue was the story line – there really wasn’t one. The story opens with Icabod Crane moving to Sleepy Hollow to teach and starting to woo a wealthy heiress. There are other suitors that are also vying for her attention. The story discusses two or three times he meets with her and ends when he is chased by the headless horseman and disappears. That’s it. That’s the whole story. There really isn’t any emotional depth to the characters, actually you don’t know much about anyone except Ichabod. The book talks a lot about how superstitious he is and how he studies the various myths and legends of ghosts and witches, thus leading to him being so utterly terrified by the headless horseman. Also, I usually love the language used in classics, but in this book it didn’t work as well. There wasn’t a large range of vocabulary and the sentences and phrases were all set up similarly which did not help the story in any way.

I do have to say that as an audiobook, the narrator, James Mio, did a phenomenal job. He added a lot of emotion to his voice and stressed different words and phrases to add emphasis, as well as drawing out different areas to create suspense. Unfortunately, I wouldn’t recommend this book, which is rare for me. For as much drama and action the narrator added, it was really dry and boring.

My rating:

Screen Shot 2015-01-06 at 12.29.50 PM

4 responses »

  1. This is one case where the book translated better onscreen.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  2. Pingback: Thoughts on 2015 Reading Challenges | Book Mouse

  3. Hi Mouse. I really enjoyed the Legend…. but I read it as a short story within a collection of Washington Irving and found i enjoyed maybe 95% which was a surprising high success rate. He instantly became one of my favourite classics authors destined for re-reading. I would encourage you to try another of his stories when you have the leisure. Best regards, Chronolibrarian chronolit.com

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

