RSS Feed

The Hound of the Baskervilles by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle

Posted on
The Hound of the Baskervilles by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle

This book was recommended to me after I mentioned I had only read the short stories of Sherlock Holmes and wanted to read one of the actual novels. My friend Kim, a librarian, suggested The Hound of the Baskervilles as it appears to be the most popular and liked of the books.

I was quite pleased with the book. It was everything I had hoped it would be. I am not surprised at all that Anne Perry wrote the afterword to the book. The writing and story line reminded me a lot of her Thomas and Charlotte Pitt series that I love. I can definitely see where she was influenced by his writing.

The story follows Holmes and Watson as they investigate a story that is brought to him by a country doctor. The doctor explains that a family has been plagued by a demon dog that has killed the current resident of the family hall. Sir Charles had died of fright after seeing the animal and having a bad heart. As the next heir arrives in London, the doctor approaches Holmes to help him ensure the safety of the heir. After some minor issues in London, Sir Henry (the heir) and Watson retire to the family estate to complete the investigation and to ensure Sir Henry’s safety. Holmes pursues the investigation in London as Watson investigates and reports from the estate. There are twists and turns throughout the investigation, with unexpected events throwing suspicion from one person to the other. I was able to figure out who was behind everything but not the way until the very end.

I greatly recommend this book. It is a fascinating, intellectual read that keeps you engaged in the story line the whole way. I was pulling for some people to be innocent and others guilty. I had hoped for a happier ending, but I can easily understand how everything turned out. Anyone who likes mysteries or books that make you think will definitely enjoy this book!

My rating:

Screen Shot 2015-01-06 at 12.29.16 PM

Leave a Reply

