RSS Feed

In Kelly’s Corner (Fighting Connellys #1) by Roxie Rivera

Posted on
In Kelly’s Corner (Fighting Connellys #1) by Roxie Rivera

The story follows Bee, an upcoming software designer, and how Kelly, a security experts, gets pulled into her world because of a stalker. This slowly morphs into a stalker and a blackmailing of Bee by two different people for two different reasons. Additionally, Kelly is dealing with his own problems as his dad’s gambling debt gets called by the Albanian mob – and for a lot more than what Kelly and his brothers were expecting.

I had mixed feelings about this book. On the one hand, there was an interesting story line with a couple twists that I did not see coming. It was not a standard stalker novel and the addition of the blackmail I didn’t see coming at all. I was able to figure out who the stalker was relatively quickly, but the author did a good job of playing around with who it was. The blackmail was a developed very well, with a solid back story and all the conniving and stressful aspects common in blackmail. The interaction between the stalker story line and the blackmail story line were also intertwined quite well. The addition of Kelly’s dad’s gambling debt payoff was played as a side story and not touched on a great deal, but you didn’t forget about it either.

On the other hand, I had a lot of trouble relating to the main male character (Kelly). I don’t know why, but I just could not like Kelly and I really tried. I don’t want to give details away, but at one point he does something that I would have not believed he would actually do. In the end, like any normal romance, everything turns out well, but it is a very rocky road. I did have a little fondness for Bee, but again I struggled relating to her. I’m not entirely sure why.

My rating:

Screen Shot 2015-01-06 at 12.29.30 PM

One response »

Leave a Reply

