RSS Feed

Self-Pity, a favorite poem

Self-Pity, a favorite poem

I do not read poetry very often, rarely actually. This poem I actually did not come across reading anyway. I heard it in the movie G.I. Jane. Now, if you have ever seen the movie, you know the poem I mean. It is very simple, clean, and straight to the point. I like that about it.

Self-Pity

I – never saw a wild thing

sorry for itself.

A small bird will drop frozen dead from a bough

without ever having felt sorry for itself.

– D.H. Lawrence

What is your favorite poem?

One response »

  1. My favorite poem : A song for Lost friends by Ruskin Bond
    Here is an excerpt from the composition –

    “They never let me know in time”,he grumbled.
    “Last week I dug two graves and now without warning,
    here’s another
    It isn’t even the season for dying”

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

Leave a Reply

